Aquaculture

You are here

The Tunisian government has made huge efforts since many years to develop aquaculture, either on its coastline or within its territory. Research facilities, pilot structures and incentive policy were implemented. Two decadal strategies were conducted for the development of aquaculture that are management plan for aquaculture (1996-2006) and the National Strategy of Aquaculture Development (2007-2016). They present the productive goals, recommendations as well as implementation mean to mobilize and attract private investment. Currently, Tunisia aquaculture production is around 7275 tons in 2011, where over 80% comes from marine fish farming.

Marine Fish farming

5,837 tons of marine fish (bass and sea bream) are produced by 21 projects in full production, where 17 projects are offshore farms and four of them are onshore farms. The latter date back since the birth of aquaculture in Tunisia where the breeding is done in raceway ponds. Production is likely to grow up very soon especially that there are 12 other offshore aquaculture farms fishponds but not yet productive.

Tuna fattening

The activity of fattening bluefin tuna began in 2003 with the aim of better commercial promotion by the fattening of small fish caught in the campaign of bluefin tuna fishing. Four farms were created by tuna Ship ownersAlpha in association with foreign professionals in this field. They are located offshore Mahdia and Hergla. The annual production of these farms have an average of 2400 tons. It is totally sold to foreign clients on husbandry areas.

Continental fish farming

In dams and water reservoir mainly in the North West, continental aquaculture of Mugilidae and other freshwater species has grown with an average production of 1,000 tons per year.

23 dams are in operation in the north and center of the country. They are stocked by several endemic fish species (barbel, eel) and other introduced species such as zander, common carp, Silurus, Black bass, gordon, common-rudd . Regular stocking of mullet are made by the S / D of aquaculture and GIPP before and now by the CTA.

For the promotion of such retained water, the General Direction for Fisheries and Aquaculture has granted concessions to private operators and to young graduates’ promoters in the field.

Agriculture dams could be used for intensive breeding in floating cages, while dams used for irrigation are used only for extensive mode.

Tilapia breeding in the geothermal water is located south of Tunisia by setting a Pilot breeding station in Bechima in the region of El Hamma under the direction of INSTM.

 

Shellfish farming

Shellfish farming is relatively an old activity in Tunisia. It is mainly practiced in the lake of Bizerte, where there are five private facilities located in the north west zone of the lake. Early attempts have involved raising mussel Mytilus galloprovincialis, and then the National Office of Fisheries has developed this activity since its establishment in 1958 and extended it to the breeding of the oyster Crassostrea gigas. However, mussel and oyster breeding remains undeveloped in Tunisia despite the antiquity of this activity and the average annual production has not exceeded the cap of 200 tons.

Breeding is practiced according to suspension technique on fixed tables in the lake of Bizerte. Currently, more than 10 projects are located in the marine zone of Bizerte where breeding is done using net fishing technique.

ََAbout us

Le GIPP est un organisme interprofessionnel chargé de la régulation du marché, de l'amélioration de la qualité, de l'encadrement des professionnels et de la promotion des exportations dans le secteur de la pêche et de l'aquaculture en Tunisie.

The GIPP is an interprofessional organization in charge of the regulation of the market, improvement of quality, framing of the professionals and promotion of exports in the aquaculture and fisheries sector in Tunisia

المجمع المهني المشترك لمنتوجات الصيد البحري مؤسسة ذات مصلحة عمومية تتمتع بالشخصية المدنية و بالإستقلال المالي تحت إشراف وزارة الفلاحة.

CONTACT INFO

  • Address: GIPP- 37 Rue du niger, 1002- Tunis – Tunisie.
  • Tél: +216 71.905.876
  • Fax: +216 71.905.982
  • Mail:gip.peche@gipp.tn
  • العنوان: 37 نهج النيجر، 1002 – تونس
  • الهاتف: +216 71.905.876
  • الفاكس: +216 71.905.982
  • البريد:gip.peche@gipp.tn

Aquaculture

Vous êtes ici

Le Gouvernement tunisien a fait de très importants efforts depuis de nombreuses années pour développer l'aquaculture, que ce soit sur son littoral ou à l'intérieur de son territoire. Des moyens de recherche, des structures pilotes et une politique d'encouragement ont été mis en place. Deux stratégies décennales ont été réalisées pour le développement de l’aquaculture qui sont le plan directeur de l’aquaculture (1996-2006) et la stratégie nationale du développement de l’aquaculture (2007-2016). Elles présentent les objectifs productifs, les recommandations ainsi que les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour mobiliser et attirer l’investissement privé. Actuellement, la production aquacole de la Tunisie est de l’ordre  de 7275 tonnes en 2011, dont plus de 80%  provient de la pisciculture marine.

pisciculture marine 

5837 tonnes de poissons marins (loup et daurade) sont produit par 21 projets en plein production, dont 17 projets sont des fermes off-shore et quatre fermes on-shore.  C’est derniers datent depuis la naissance de l’aquaculture en Tunisie où l’élevage se fait dans des bassins raceway. La production  est susceptible de croitre très prochainement surtout qu’il y’a  12 autres fermes aquacole off- shore   alevinés mais non encore productifs.

Engraissement du Thon

L’activité d’engraissement du thon rouge  a démarré en 2003 dans le but d’une meilleure valorisation commerciale par l’engraissement des petits poissons capturés à la compagne de pêche de thon rouge. Quatre fermes ont été crée par des armateurs de thoniers en association avec des opérateurs étrangers dans ce domaines. Elles sont  implantées au large de Mahdia et Hergla. La production annuelle de ces fermes et en moyenne  2400 tonnes.  Elle est totalement vendue à des clients étrangers  sur les lieux d’élevage.

Pisciculture continentale

Dans les barrages et les retenus d’eau essentiellement dans les régions du nord ouest, l’aquaculture  continentale  des mugilidés et autres espèces dulcicoles s'est développée avec une moyenne de production de 1000 tonnes par an.

23 barrages sont en exploitation dans le nord et le centre du pays. Ils sont empoissonnés par quelques espèces de poissons endémiques (barbeau, anguille) et d’autres espèces introduites tels que  le sandre, carpe commune, silure, Black bass, gordon, rotengle.. Des alevinages réguliers de mulet  sont effectués par la S/D de l’aquaculture et le GIPP avant et actuellement par  le CTA.

Pour la valorisation de ces retenus d’eau, la Direction Générale de la Pêche et de l’Aquaculture a octroyé des concessions aux exploitants privés et aux jeunes promoteurs diplômés du domaine.

Les barrages à vocation agricole pourraient être susceptibles d’être employés pour l’élevage intensif en cages flottantes, alors que les barrages utilisés pour l’irrigation sont utilisés seulement en mode extensif.

L’élevage du Tilapia dans les  eaux géothermales est installé au sud de la Tunisie par la fixation d’une station pilote d’élevage à Bechima dans la région de El Hamma sous la direction de l’INSTM.

Conchyliculture

La conchyliculture est une activité relativement ancienne en Tunisie. Elle est essentiellement pratiquée dans la lagune de Bizerte, où  il existe cinq  installations privées localisées dans la zone nord ouest de la lagune. Les premières tentatives ont concerné l'élevage de la moule Mytilus galloprovincialis, puis l'Office National des Pêches a développé cette activité depuis sa création en 1958 et l'a étendue à l'élevage de l'huître creuse Crassostrea gigas. Cependant, l'élevage de la moule et de l'huître reste encore peu développé en Tunisie malgré l'ancienneté de cette activité et la production annuelle moyenne n’a pas dépassé le cap de  200 tonnes.

L’élevage est pratiqué suivant la technique en suspension sur des tables fixes dans la lagune de Bizerte. Actuellement, plus de 10 projets sont implantés dans la zone marine de Bizerte où l’élevage est effectué selon la technique de pêche sur filière. 

A propos

Le GIPP est un organisme interprofessionnel chargé de la régulation du marché, de l'amélioration de la qualité, de l'encadrement des professionnels et de la promotion des exportations dans le secteur de la pêche et de l'aquaculture en Tunisie.

The GIPP is an interprofessional organization in charge of the regulation of the market, improvement of quality, framing of the professionals and promotion of exports in the aquaculture and fisheries sector in Tunisia

المجمع المهني المشترك لمنتوجات الصيد البحري مؤسسة ذات مصلحة عمومية تتمتع بالشخصية المدنية و بالإستقلال المالي تحت إشراف وزارة الفلاحة.

CONTACT INFO

  • Address: GIPP- 37 Rue du niger, 1002- Tunis – Tunisie.
  • Tél: +216 71.905.876
  • Fax: +216 71.905.982
  • Mail:gip.peche@gipp.tn
  • العنوان: 37 نهج النيجر، 1002 – تونس
  • الهاتف: +216 71.905.876
  • الفاكس: +216 71.905.982
  • البريد:gip.peche@gipp.tn